Mary Jane- a rejected poem

Mary Jane, is a common name, yes, I know that. But, it apparently was too professional for me (too experienced). Um… what!? It was easy to write, just a bit of fancy wording and things that make sense etc.etc. Though one line says rose, the original version by me, was lavender, though changed it to either provide romance or to add the red colour. This is the rejected poem- no research involved, all mine, creativity.

I miss her,

Of all the people she lingers long,

Longer than the Long Island air,

Or the bustling streets of Beijing,

I have been everywhere and yet I see her,

Standing alone, dressed in red,

Through windows of shops and little French Cafés,

I smell her scent of coffee and rose,

Blending together a harmony I will never experience again,

She reminds me of painful nights alone,

Listening to rain pattering on window panes,

Plit, plat, plit ,plat and it goes on deep into the empty night,

Of when I lost my Suzy Anne,

Or was it Rose, perhaps Mary Anne,

Her name has slipped my mind ,

And yet I will never forget of the girl in red,

A feeling that lingers long,

Oh, how I miss you,

My Mary Jane.

 

-Henri Darkner

Author: Henri Darkner

Life is harsh. Love is harsh. God makes it better. If I understood myself, I would not be writing this blog. Just here.

Leave a Reply

